The Beginning of Casual Costume October

I love Halloween.  I love dressing up.  Casual Costume October started with one vest in August.  In a box of hand me down clothes for my son, I found a puffy red vest that immediately reminded me of Marty McFly in Back to the Future.  I decided I would dress Kieran up like Marty, just for fun, for a picture.  Then I thought, hey, my hair is almost white right now, I’ll dress up like Doc Brown, it’ll be funny.

docmarty

And I loved it!  Kieran didn’t love it so much.  I only got this one picture of him, then he started crying.

I loved it so much, I decided instead of just dressing up for Halloween, I would dress up every day in October.  Okay, every day is a bit ambitious.  How about every week day?  But I didn’t want to use actual costumes, the kind you buy from a store.  I wanted to do something a little more subtle, with things I already had or things I could get from a thrift store, using regular clothing.  And I didn’t always want people to think, “she’s wearing a costume, weird”.  I wanted it to be more like, “Hey, does that lady know she’s dressed exactly like Garth from Wayne’s World today?”

Here are the photos from my first Casual Costume October, 2014.

freddy2fixweb
Freddy Krueger
IMG_4867
Judy Funnie
FullSizeRender
Garth
IMG_4875
Peter Pan
IMG_4869
Johnny Lawrence
IMG_4868
Minnie Mouse
IMG_4876
Debbie Thornberry
kiki1web
Kiki from Kiki’s Delivery Service
IMG_4872
Totoro
pigletpooh
Piglet & Pooh
IMG_4858
Audrey Hepburn
IMG_4874
Log Lady from Twin Peaks
IMG_4880
Alex from A Clockwork Orange
IMG_5209
The Grady Twins from The Shining
FullSizeRender (2)
Carrie
IMG_4870
Alex from Flashdance
IMG_4877
Sailor Moon
IMG_4878
Regina George

IMG_5210

IMG_5211
Angelica Pickles
FullSizeRender (3)
Pugsley
IMG_5212
John Bender (Breakfast Club)
IMG_4871
Llyod Dobler from Say Anything
IMG_4873
The Fonz
IMG_4827
Luna Lovegood

 

Author: Odd Mom In

Pink haired mom of two, trying to make life more fun one craft project at a time.

1 thought on “The Beginning of Casual Costume October”

Leave a Reply

